ID:157919

I think this is a basic concept in coding but I'm kinda new to coding so forgive me for my ignorance but what does the ..() line of coding mean? Like what does it do exactly? I've been reading the DM guide and I always seem to get confused when the ..() is used.
When you don't know what something does, you refer to the resources, such as the Dream Makers guild, the DM Guide, and the DM Reference, rather than asking about it in the forums.
If all else fails, then before you post, you use the forum search to find previous threads where your question was answered already.
In response to Kaioken
Alright will do
Here's where it is in the reference, but there's a few things it doesn't explain well.

Lets say you've got code that looks like this:

mob
monster

var/hitpoints

New()
if (hitpoints == null)
hitpoints = 1
..() // Keep on going up to /mob

kobold

snake

unicorn
name = "unicorn"
desc = "I'm a unicorn!"

New(var/loc)
view() << "A [name] appears in a flash of light!"
..() // Head on down to mob/monster.New() now.

The first thing you have to know is what a parent and child is. The kobold, snake, and unicorn's parent is mob/monster, in other words they are children of mob/monster, because that is where they are defined. For the same reason, mob/monster's parent is mob, and one of mob's children is monster.

What the ..() does is execute the same name proc if it exists in the parent proc. If you omitted New(), this is done automatically, as though the default New() already contains a ..(). However, once you've added New(), I've noticed that the parent's version of New() does not execute unless you include ..().

Consequently, because I've made it so the unicorn announces its presense, its hitpoints would not be set to 1 if null unless I put that ..() in its New() proc, but the other mobs will call that New() proc anyway.