ID:151303

I am looking to develop an original game idea I have been toying with in my mind over the past week. I'm a basic programmer when it comes to BYOND and can usually find ways to make things work by either trial and error, or by searching the forums for what I need.

My question today is, when starting this project should I use a starter source to work up from or should I make the game from scratch? The game is going to be your standard RPG, top down and probably going to just utilize a hack and slash style fighting system.

If you think I should use a starter source do you have any suggestions for a fairly decent one/modern one?
I think it's always better to make from scratch. You learn something new with every line, also it's easier to understand own code.
In response to Zaoshi
Zaoshi wrote:
I think it's always better to make from scratch. You learn something new with every line, also it's easier to understand own code.

This is exactly what I thought. I have a large fear though that my own coding will not provide uptimum performance for the game as it'll probably be extremely bulky and outdated.

I also feel like there are already some good systems out there (saving and loading for example) and these systems were made for others to use and learn from, so is it okay that I use those if I were to code from scratch? Or should I literally attempt to code every line using my own resources?
In response to Slayde
Learning from Trial and Error is always the best option. If you really want to learn something new quickly. Look it up in the Reference or meander through the forums. There are quite a few things that I learned simply by opening up the Reference, and even today, I still break it open to review the subject matters that I've not gone very deeply into yet.
In response to Slayde
If someone made library or demo it doesn't mean it's fully optimized. Plus you'll never learn to write efficient/optimized code if you never try.
In response to Slayde
Slayde wrote: