ID:863683
 
Keywords: hacker, phish, phisher, threat
(See the best response by Lummox JR.)
Atol Soldier sent me a page to my main key, Tacoon. It advertised a "sequel" to his game, Dragonball: Supremacy. I logged into an alt key to see what it was about, and instead a BYOND looking login screen showed up. Odd, not ONLY did I have byond logged in, but I've never seen two byond clients at once.

At once, my senses were alerted so I used fake login information, and pressed login. Immediately the "login screen" said connection died in the "output" of the client, something I never have seen either.

Considering you launch it like a game, I'm nearly positive Atol Soldier is phishing for BYOND usernames and passwords.

Thank you for your time.

Screenshot proof: http://i.imgur.com/Z1R7z.jpg

I have the byond ip if you'd like
Sorry for double post but here is PROOF from my byond page in which he pmed me the game link

http://i.imgur.com/VABlx.png
This looks like a phishing attempt to me. There are several inaccuracies in his recreation of the pager (for one, none of the options work at all, and he misspelled a few of the options).

Anyone that has been paged this link, do not enter any of your information.
LordAndrew, I truly appreciate your immediate and swift response. It makes me feel secure in BYOND's management.

Out of curiosity, if you dont mind, what is the punishment for attempting to steal BYOND accounts?

Best response
I believe Atol Soldier was a victim of this scam, not the perpetrator. I've banned the IP address in question and the account I know without a doubt belongs to it, and we'll investigate further.
Ah, okay. That makes sense.


One more question, though. Unless the person doing this understands and knows Atol's activity on BYOND, then how would they know to advertise it in Atol Soldier's usual paging style, advertising a sequel of his current game?

It seemed like a page from HIM, as he sends them out a lot.

If it is a person who's against Ibis it would make sense then.
Given the number of people Atol Soldier has spammed about his games in the past, faking a similar page from him after phishing his account would be a no brainer.
So very very true. Thanks for the laugh.

I really appreciate the quick response :D. It took ten MINUTES for someone to respond, which really surprised and delighted me.

Makes me want to buy another membership, haha.
I have conflicting feelings about whoever is behind this. On one hand I'm impressed someone put that much effort into recreating the pager, on the other hand it's a shame they've directed this talent towards scamming rather than game development.
Wow someone actually attempted this?

What's the point you won't get anything out of it anyway...
OMFG, i see this now, ive never posted things like that!! 0.0"
somebody hacks ma key !!
I would suggest changing your password on BYOND, email accounts and anything else.

And make sure they are all different..
Im Talking to Ibis
Mr Ibis: DBS2?
Mr Ibis: whats wrong ?
Omega: http://www.byond.com/forum/?post=863683#comment2619090
Omega: read it
Omega: it says your tried to hack everyone by using a fake pager thing
Omega: so if your the real ibis
Mr Ibis: omfg
Omega: Be Warned
Mr Ibis: im hacked 0.0
Omega: Someone might of hacked you
Omega: change your pass
Omega: emediatly
Im changing everything right now pff, i taught hacking on BYOND was impossible :(
This isn't hacking ...

It is simple password guessing or just plain brute force..

A password should contain at least 3 upper case 2-3 symbols 2-3 numbers and lower case letters. not just .. omgthisismypass
Pff, Ive changed everything.. who the hell can do this, not one knows me pass :/
Why are you saying Pff on every post?

Anyone can do this...

Doesn't matter you should Google what brute force means.

I think you are lying that's my opinion.
I Dont Think He Is lying
Because it lets me stress.

Ive got respect for your opinion..

But its the true.. Somebody have hacked mah key! >:(

Hopefully an BYOND admin can help me out with this :(

Page: 1 2