ID:258533

Just note that I'm a newbie at pixel art. I'm challenging myself by learning the way of the pixel. I've got a fun little game planned and I decided I'd start piddling with sprites since I'm terrible at everything!

Anyway, I've settled on a process by which I first draw the outline of what I want with some detail lines as well. Then I move on to trying to shade it in.

Here is Lord Vehement in all his glory:
=> => => => => => =>

I also made an isometric-ish (ish: considering I don't know the proper angle) treasure chest for practice:

Being new, I'm looking for constructive criticism along with tips for pixel art in general. Any and all aid is very much welcome!

Thanks

[Edit] Added another version with the shadow.
[Edit-2] Added the newest version with a an altered palette according to some critique and tips.
[Edit-3] Updated with the current chronology of work.
Wow, it looks really good! I'm no expert myself, but it seems you've got some talent, if those are some of your first pieces of work, as a beginner. All hail Lord Vehement!
I made the legs longer, changed the palette a bit, and put in a bunch of work on killing the noise.

I'd say it's coming along but I'm having trouble with it looking like he has underwear on Shocked That and I'm having trouble with shading the legs in general.

Please advise.
In response to Vermolius
Vermolius wrote:
I made the legs longer, changed the palette a bit, and put in a bunch of work on killing the noise.

I'd say it's coming along but I'm having trouble with it looking like he has underwear on Shocked That and I'm having trouble with shading the legs in general.

Please advise.

Well, I see that you put mind into dithering it. Well done for a beginner.I wish I cud edit it, but I'm on the run. Maybe later.
In response to Flav_Flamez34
Flav_Flamez34 wrote:
Well, I see that you put mind into dithering it. Well done for a beginner.I wish I cud edit it, but I'm on the run. Maybe later.