ID:1867105

Poll: Are "mandatory RP" BYOND games oversaturated?

Yes 45% (15)
No 54% (18)

Login to vote.

Hello! I'm an amateur multimedia artist who's been looking at BYOND due to its status as a hub and IDE for multiplayer indie game development.

I'm very disappointed to see that the overwhelming majority of games on BYOND, especially those more advanced in gameplay and worth playing as ordinary games, still mandate heavy RP in the game design itself for no clear reason and even theme basic game mechanics around said RP requirement, as opposed to producing a good game first and foremost and setting RP depth requirements per server later.

This is a self-defeating design theorem that traps the player environment in an uncomfortable wedge between a game and a chat room, failing to excel in either because these elements conflict rather than complement.

RP IS RUINED BY COMPLEX GAME MECHANICS

Games with advanced and contrived mechanics fight with RP for the player's attention and cause both elements to be compromised because each bogs down the other. For instance, if you're a Bartender in Space Station 13 (one of the most obtuse games I have ever played), then you need to use the elaborate chemical mixing system whenever you're asked for a drink. It would take a real bartender no more than 10 seconds to mix any drink he has the ingredients for, while it can take you several minutes. And you have to keep chatting in-character and somehow handwave or explain why this is taking so long or to excuse any mistakes your presumably-professional bartender makes.

Enforcing RP in a complex game arbitrarily limits the game's player base to players who are both adept with the game mechanics AND fond of RP.

It makes no sense to be roleplaying a character when I the player need to know how to do x rather than my character.

DETAILED GAMES LIMIT RP