ID:808851

Hello BYOND Community, I was just wondering how did y'all learn to program? The way I learned was looking at ripped naruto source trying to edit them lol. I remember when I use to go on YouTube / Google and search how to code for BYOND. I was self taught, and over the years I got better. I'm actually still learning new things and how to code things an easier way. So back to the original question, how did you learn?
I used resources and F1. I used ripped sources at first, but in the end they only taught me bad habits that I had to get rid of. Shove those habits now, you'll practically have to re-learn DM anyways.
The reference, from friends, that's pretty much it. When I started with BYOND I didn't have regular internet access, so the only resource I had at the time was the built in help file. From that, I used the examples to learn the basic structure of the language and to start putting together simple games. After about a year of that, my family got AOL and I started browsing the forums and made a couple friends who were good programmers. They ended up teaching me a lot by including me in their projects and letting me bug them about things I didn't understand.
Before I came to BYOND, I had prior experience with programming, so it was quite easy for me to adapt to the language. All I ever used was F1.
I used F1, but didn't really understand it at all due to the fact of me being 11 lol. I used to copy and paste the example from F1 and tried to figure it out. But now, its really easy to understand anything DM related, read threw it like a book.