ID:1451135

I'm fairly new to the hosting aspect, and I wanted to make sure I'm not getting into something totally out of my reach.

So when I tried to host a game on dreamDaemon, it complained about it not being able to be reached by players.

I know the basic of port forwarding, like how I can open a certain port on my connection so other people can use that to enter my connection.

But once people joins in, are they able to harm my computer in any way shape of form, since they are technically in my connection.

And also, if I shut down the DreamDaemon, will it close all connection that tries to enter into the opened port?
Port forwarding is only as safe as the application that is listening for that port.

BYOND doesn't permit the person accessing the port to do any manipulation of the local server whatsoever by default, so it's pretty safe.

In order for someone to "get in", they have to request a connection with the open port, and an application has to be listening for a specific type of request on that port at the time the connection is made.

So... Basically, to answer your question: No. An open port isn't like an open doorway through your defenses. It's more like a closed, locked door that someone can knock on to get in --provided someone's there to open the door.
In response to Ter13
Ter13 wrote:
Port forwarding is only as safe as the application that is listening for that port.

BYOND doesn't permit the person accessing the port to do any manipulation of the local server whatsoever by default, so it's pretty safe.

In order for someone to "get in", they have to request a connection with the open port, and an application has to be listening for a specific type of request on that port at the time the connection is made.

So... Basically, to answer your question: No. An open port isn't like an open doorway through your defenses. It's more like a closed, locked door that someone can knock on to get in --provided someone's there to open the door.