Ok, beware msn users. There is a big virus going around. I got it last night. I'm going to explain it to you the best I can. I managed to defeat it. Basically, you get it if you click a link going to this website. You may receiver it from one of your friends. It will say something like this: "Look it's a picture of you - www...". Whatever you do don't click that link. It has a .pif file disguised as a .jpg file.
Anyway, now to explain what the virus does. As soon as it gets in it first runs, and after a couple of seconds turns off windows firewall and deletes it. Yep, it deleted mine. Then it uploads tonnes of trogens into your computer. VET Antivirus picked them up thankfully. Then it opens up all your messenger contacts online and sends them that message I told you earlier. It then tries to freeze your computer by running useless programmings like help and support 7 times.
Eventually, I managed to get into safe mode, though it still ran there. I've narrowed it down to 2 files. A file called loadadv455.exe or the actual windows messenger.exe. I think it is the latter. They wipe over your previous version of windowsmessenger.exe with their own version. I also found a trogen called 304.exe sitting in my proecesses a few times as well as about 10 b.exe. Inconspicuous huh? Anyway, I eventually stop this feral pest. And also, I managed to get a lot of evidence on where it came from. I got an ip address of the trogen using netstat. Brillant application. I've also got 2 of their websites.
If you have this virus and need any help ridding yourself of it I think I'm going to write an anti worm. Give me a talk at spell_dime@hotmail.com.
Currently, a friend and I are getting this web server taken down. I can't tell you how, but it is not in a calm and peacful way, so hopefully we will be able to save the rest of the world from this heaven.
ADT_CLONE
|
Don't do anything illegal... I recommend talking it to the hosting provider, if you can find them, and politely asking them to take down the site.
Keep in mind it's quite likely that the site itself was not paid for by the virus writer - they may have guessed or cracked (or stolen) an FTP password and uploaded the virus to the website without the website owner's knowledge.
"Heaven"? =P