Since the main reason for letting all the rips fester and grow on BYOND seems to be the lack of staff and/or the large amount of effort it would take from the staff to delete them, how about this:
When a new hub entry is created it as marked as un-authenticated. It will still have full functionality like it does now, but admins will be able to browse the hub for un-authenticated games, check them out, and if they're a rip they can force-hide the hub entry. If its not a rip, they can simply authenticate the game which will prevent other admins from having to review its content.
Once a hub entry is hidden in this manner, the account/key which created the hub will have any new entries it creates start out in forced-hidden mode, requiring the authentication of a staff member before they will even be allowed to broadcast to the hub, of course this could be easily avoidable by them simply creating a new key.
Staff will of course need to be able to search for new hub entries that were force-hidden by default if this is used as well. Or some message could be posted on the hub entry edit page that instructs them they'll need to file a formal request if they want their new hub to be visible, using an actual form from the hub so they can only file one.
All currently existing hubs would be marked as un-authenticated so staff can go back to review them, possibly even with a 3rd, back-marked, setting so staff know the hub was created before this system's implementation.
I figure this method should be somewhat simple to implement and use, and would allow for even a small amount of busy staff to slowly weed out the weeds. They can just check into a few hub entries whenever they're bored and/or have free time... or are just in the mood to destroy some rips.
Hiding the hub entries could just prevent them from being displayed in normal hub queries, but still allow them to function when being directly linked to. This way anyone who wants to create a rip for whatever reason can still advertise it to their friends.
EDIT: Also when this is done the creator should receive some sort of notification: pager, email, a message on the hub edit page, etc. Just as long as they know what happened and why.