Dragon Quest Heroes Destiny

by Dpheonix7
Dragon Quest Heroes Destiny
The long enjoyed peace has come to an end. Travel the world as you fight back the darkness in Dragon Quest Hero's Destiny. [More]
Version 5
Date added: Jun 10 2014
Last updated: Feb 18
135 fans

1 Game Live!

Only Windows users can play this game. If you are using an emulator, enter the URL for the game in File | Open Location on your BYOND pager menu.

byond://BYOND.world.1702405982 [DQHD Version 5.36]

No players.
New major game overhaul. Over 90% remapped, new adventures, new ways to play, etc.

With the world tree under attack, travel the world to destroy an ancient evil. You don't have to go alone though. You can recruit others to help you, even other players. Up to four players can join together to bring peace to the world once again. Travel the world in this game based on the Dragon Quest series spanning from 1987 to now.

New single player version: (more story focus, new features.)
http://www.mediafire.com/file/h3v1m5vubkhnepb/DQHD5.7z/file

This game started production back in 2003 and was ported to Byond in 2004. Version 0 was built on the RPG maker system and brought to Byond as Dragon Warrior Hero's Legacy. Version 1 changed to Hero's Destiny and added the party system. At this time the game was heavily based around Dragon Warrior 3 and 4. Version 2 added many elements from later Dragon Quest games and Version 3 started adding some new elements. Version 4 adds elements from later Dragon Quest games such as Dragon Quest 9. Version 5 focuses on Dragon Quest 11.

In the meanwhile you can check out Shadows of Erdrick at http://www.byond.com/games/8bitdream/ DragonWarriorShadowsofErdrick. SoE has a long lived community that is shared with HD's community. While HD focuses more on being a traditional Dragon Quest game, SoE focuses more on the multiplayer side. It's Dragon Warrior with Everquest sprinkled in.

Throughout this I used Dragon Warrior and Dragon Quest. Dragon Warrior is for those features only based on the original NES games. Dragon Quest 8 was the first of the series in the US to use the original title of Dragon Quest, so any reference to it is to state the newer games or the series as a whole.

Dragon Warrior and Dragon Quest are a trademark of Square Enix.

Recent Medals


Nest Egg

Earned by Ryuujin
Oct 10 2020, 5:59 pm


Slime

Earned by Tenta
Sep 10 2020, 5:56 am

Comments

Dpheonix7: (Sunday, 4:02 pm)
Fixed in 5.36. Please send bugs as a DM or page. I can respond and fix it quicker, plus the bug isnt shown on the front page
Ruesen: (Sunday, 1:53 pm)
Ran into a class change bug.

When you Go from being a Friar to a Tempest, your class becomes the "Tempst" class, which I assume will have no skills or stat bonuses. My assumtion comes from the fact that when he got a job level up, my "Tempst" did not receive any stat ups while the rest of the monks' final job classes did.

I don't think it's the entire Tempest class either; as you may know, my entire party is monks filling out all the monk final jobs. The character that was a Samurai changing into her final class clearly saw "Tempest" as an option, so I believe it's only an issue for those who were Friars previously that has this issue.

Clearly it's just a typo, I just ask if at some point we can correct my "Tempst" when possible. He hasn't had to learn any skills yet, so assuming a small change won't break code, seems to not be too hard a fix.
Dpheonix7: (Feb 24, 5:21 pm)
well the lose party bug and such seems to have started from your mercs mingling with other players. why now they will be removed from player groups, only usable when solo.
Dpheonix7: (Feb 6, 12:11 am)
doesn't save on login. player has to activate a save. all I know is something to do with multiplayer
Ruesen: (Feb 2, 2:33 am)
I don't know if you have any patch fixes, but wanted to mention the 'lose your party' bug does still exist. However, I THINK I may have a solution to it.

The issue is usually, the user gets bugged in some way. Maybe they accidentally froze the battle, or a menu popped up when it shouldn't have. So they reconnect. However upon reconnect, it autoloads your last save, brings you online with JUST your main character and not loading your party, then cuts connection with an auto save. When you log back on that save file, your party is gone. Funny enough, if you check item screen, it has spots where your party was though, so maybe there in some sort of unload limbo, who knows.

My solution is more a bandaid then a proper solution, but what if there was not auto save when you first connect to the world? Maybe like a... delayed auto save? Doesn't save until a few minutes pass? I'm unsure if you can do this, but maybe some sort of solution could be found so people don't lose their party members (and any important items on them)